Smart-Causual? Eh?

Whenever you receive an invitation to an event, party or even just dinner the first thing that flies through my mind is “what shall I wear?!” “Is it dressy?” “Can I wear heels?!!!” 

Us girls (and growingly men) are just confused nowadays on the dress code, you can’t be under dressed and look scruffy, and the fear of over dressing and having all eyes on you is too intense for my liking! 

I think the worst event to choose an outfit for, is weddings. You can’t wear white, black is a no-go! Is it outside? Do I need a jacket? Is it dressy? It’s just a nightmare. “Smart-Causal” what does that even mean? 

Recently, wedding experts Paul Fredrick contacted me and asked me to help them with this dilemma.

As I said above, Men are finding this harder too. Bow ties or top button undone? Brogues or boat shoes?

Paul Fredrick a menswear company is making waves in the wedding industry. They created this infographic with the help of a handful of experts. 

Take a look at this;  

Do you agree with these stats? I have to say.. Flip flops would be a no-go, not at my wedding! Even if it is causal! What would you suggest? 

  
  
I adore three piece suits, and think that they’re ideal for a black tie/formal event! 

These two above are from Paul Fredrick. I love the baby blue colour of the first one, I think it’s super classy – perfect for a gentleman! 

The second suit, I chose as I love the mis-match of the colours and patterns. I think staying within a similar colour family (mustard and beige for example) you can pull off the mis-match look! However, don’t go too far out, purple and green would not be a good look. 

  
  
I love these dress shirts, you can dress these up with a gorgeous suit or play it down with smart jeans and boat shoes. I love the mismatch again of the colours and patterns! Take a look at Paul Fredricks fabulous Dress Shirts page too. They have so many designs, you will be spoilt for choice! I would most definitely recommend. 

  
  
I really like these two looks above, both from Next. I think in summer months, with an outdoor wedding these chino shorts could be pulled off! Especially with a matching suit jacket. I think it’s young, fun and a bit different! 

The second look I like as it’s a bit more smart but still casual. Maybe this is the meaning of smart-casual?! Jeans, a shirt and a tailored blazer can take your look up a few levels and still keep it casual enough.

  
So shoes! I love these loafers from Paul Fredrick. They’re on their website for less than $200 (in the sale guys!) which I think is more than reasonable for leather dress shoes that will last a lifetime. These are the perfect wedding shoe. I don’t think they’d be ideal for a black tie event, but most definitely perfect for a more casual wedding, it would look great with tailored black jeans, or a dark navy suit. 

  
Finishing touches. Cufflinks are essential for black tie weddings, even more casual weddings in my opinion! These have such a lovely touch, with initials being available to add on. The perfect wedding present to the groom, or you could even get the wedding date on them! Perfect. $59.50 from Paul Fredrick. Buy one get the second half price! 

Ladies! Don’t think I forgot about you! 

  
This gorgeous co-ord is from Next, and perfect for a summer wedding! £70 for both top and skirt is very good I think, really good quality and one you can wear again and again! Pair with gold sandals and an envelope clutch and you’re good to go! 

I love co-ordinates for weddings and think they’re a funky alternative to a dress, young and fresh! 

  
  
These two are from Missguided. For the younger woman/teen I would say. Perfect for a smart-casual wedding again. Pair with strappy heels and maybe a draped waterfall linen jacket for the ceremony. I love these colours too. Bright and fresh, perfect for a buzzing happy day. 

  
  
Jumpsuits are really cool too. You can dress them up (like the second image) or keep it free and simple like the first. I think they’re super flattering and a bit different! Both of these are from Next. I love the second lacy number, a blush bandeau – so beautiful. Keep your hair off your face – in a bun or even plaited to keep it elegant.

The first grey jumpsuit would be ideal for a beach or an outdoor wedding! What do you think?

So there we are! Here is my summary on the perfect wedding attire! What do you all think? Anything you would add or recommend, or anything you really loved!? I would love to hear your comments!

Have a lovely week! X 

Leave a comment